When I started this blog I was on a mission to be skinny, now I am on a mission to be as fit and healthy as I can be! This journey is always changing:)

Preparing for Success

Image

 

^ This is what some of my week of food ,mainly lunches, looks like and I made it all in under 3 hours. My success in weight loss comes from being prepared and never having to “scrounge” for food. I have two young kids and next to no help with hubby working away and all my family living in another city. If I’m not prepared, I end up “starving” and eating food that is not what I should be eating, or worse, not eating at all and then hunting for snacks all night long. With a little planning meal prep isn’t all that hard to do 🙂  I diced up about 6 chicken breasts and cooked them all at the same time with a little EVOO and some basic seasoning while 3 more breasts were baking in the oven. While the diced chicken was cooking I was chopping veggies and feeding the children who were safely locked in the living room lol.  When the chicken was done I measured it out into piles for 2 half servings of the Mexican Rice and a double batch of chicken chilli! I then made the chilli and while it was simmering I was also cooking the rice and pasta! At the same time I was stirring the 3 pots on the stove I was adding the veggies for the Mexican Rice and the pasta dish into mixing bowls to be ready for the pasta/rice 🙂 It all came together quickly and nicely and honestly isn’t as chaotic as it sounds, honest! The key to quick prepping is to do multiple things at once and it may take a few attempts to get to a point where everything comes together but trust me when I say that it’s so worth it!

 Now today all I need to do is make the sauce for the Mexican Rice, add the forgotten broccoli to the pasta dish and chop veggies to go with the diced ham for breakfasts and I’m good to go! Plus there is now 3 more cooked chicken breasts weighed out and individually packaged in my freezer alongside a batch of chilli. 

  For those (less than!) 3 hours, I put me first by allowing myself to take the time out of my hectic life to set myself up for success and now I feel no pressure about the upcoming week and I know it will show on the scale but more importantly in my body mind and overall mood 🙂  Because let’s face it, our lives are crazy enough on their own, don’t let food get in the way

 Give yourself the opportunity to set your week up for success! 

 

 

Leave a comment

Tag Cloud